Wordy Wednesday

So it’s Wednesday, which I still think “Wed Nes Day” every time I write it down, and the day has been filled with all sorts of strange little ideas that have pushed me towards my writing, and generally just enjoying life a little bit more.

Yesterday I was offered a job to help someone write their book, which gave me a wonderful little proud moment, and not just because of the money. It takes trust to write a book, and it takes something else to let someone help you do it, and I am glad to be allowed to do this.

I spent today listening to interviews, writing, and some planning for ideas. I wrote around twenty pages of my novel, Manchester at Midnight, which is currently at a moment where the protagonist is trying to dissuade a character capable of changing your dreams, from doing something dangerous to her father.

I’m ninety six pages in (notepad) and we’ve had: trolls, books that act like ghosts, and coffee-witches almost jumping over the moon on the back of a great milk cow, and I want to find out what happens next. It’s a wonderful experience, and i’m glad to be so excited after spending an entire year writing draft after draft of my first novel. I thought that I might have spoiled the experience, but here I am, doing something new.

I know what I want to write for this weeks “Sunday Story” and without spoiling too much I can say it involves a shady horse dealer trying to sell on a magical animal that really shouldn’t be released into the general population, at least not one with limited skills in dealing with said animal. It’s funny, it’s quirky, and it’s my attempt to answer a question that’s been bugging me for some time which is “Who is training all these magical mounts for heroes to ride in these stories, and what happens when they do?”

I’ve also started playing around with an idea for a story I want to write after Manchester at Midnight (The novel i’m working on), which is currently called, The Day of the Dads, but might change. It’s an idea around collecting role models throughout mythology and stories, and seeing what they can impart on an impressionable young mind. I’m thinking it would work as a illustrated book, which I haven’t done yet, but i’d have to find someone who wanted to help draw it for me first.

It’s been a fun day, definitely a wordy wed nes day as mentioned in the title, and i’m rather smitten with the way that things are going at the moment. I am naturally optimistic, able to brush off the day to day grime of bad situations, but I do truly revel in a moment of infinite possibility. As a writer these possibilities are limited by my imagination, and the desire to see them completed, but it’s just a matter of time.

Leave a Reply

