Fishy Thursday

So I was talking to an old friend from college, and a typo resulted in a conversation about a fish-man detective called Sting Ray. The idea of a hybrid trying to make sense of the world, while not really living in a world that cares or representing people who can be represented.

There are those strange little moments where you can’t help but run with an idea, and today has seen some strange ideas. The thing I love most about this way of thinking is that it’s fun and unexpected, and fits so well with old crazy ideas I had a year ago. I spent a lot of my time as a boy at the coast with my Great Grandmother, and all of these ideas about the magic surrounding these places sort of seeped in.

As an adult these ideas have warped somewhat, resulting in a strange conversation with my partner Holly, where we talked about goblin sharks, with their heads in water-filled plastic bags, working the rides and games on the peer. I think it’s something to do with  Thompson’s and Burroughs influence on my psyche as a teenager, resulting in some amalgamation of metaphor and surrealism.

Now i’m playing around with ideas of dank peers, just off the way from Innsmouth, where this strange detective attempts to represent the unrepresentable. The ideas in my head, and I know i’m going to have to write a new story to get it out, even if I planned to sort some of my other stories out first.

I’ve also been pondering ideas about genies, and the idea of a world where everyone has a genie that grants three wishes, and the problems that would come with that. I wrote a story the other week called best Wishes, which follows a slave who is granted three wishes by a genie who plans to steal his body.

It’s been pointed out to me that some of my current themes revolve around control and slavery, which isn’t surprising when you look at the last twelve months of my life since I started writing. Things have changed, and people have gone while I sorted out what I wanted, and even though people have had problems with my choices I didn’t really think that it was fair to try and separate me from something that actually mattered, so I let them go on with their lives.

Sometimes things can be tough, and going after what you want isn’t always difficult in the way you’d expect. People do take issue with your choices, sometimes in ways that might seem odd or cruel, but that isn’t your issue. If you’re happy doing what you love then you’ve figured something out that a lot of people never take the time for, and if you’re struggling to find whatever it is you want then you need to keep going.

No matter what your beliefs are about the universe and its cosmic order you have a chance to do something personal and creative with your time, even if it seems silly. Take the time to find that inner voice, and while people are entitled to their beliefs, don’t let it get in the way of what you want. It’s your life, so fill it with things you’re proud of.

Leave a Reply

