Friday Fun

a
Weekend antics with Holly.

So i’m actually getting used to waking up when it’s fairly early, but in a creative kind of way that makes it look like i’m still pretty lazy. I’m looking out of the window at the drizzle and the dirty snow sky, waiting for the springtime to arrive. I like the winter, but i’m excited to see what the spring does to the forests around here.

Tonight is the first night of the year where I get to see my partner dancing up on stage, which is a delightful experience, and one that doesn’t seem to get old. I have no idea how she does it, and not just the confidence, but the physical side as well as the provocative element.

I’ve spent the past few days feeling unwell and generally quite grumpy, and today I woke up feeling slightly confused that I wasn’t in pain. There’s nothing worse than wanting to write and to create, and your brain just says no, I still cheated and dotted down the odd bit, but not as much as i’d have liked.

I have written a strange little story about a business-minded ghost, which was a story I started to play around with sometime last year. It started with an idea about the laws regarding the spot where a person dies and becomes a ghost, and what would happen if someone added on a  conservatory to the house.

Yesterday I watched a film called Anomalisa, a weird and quirky little film, and definitely worth the watch. There is a stop-motion sex scene, which was in its entirety surreal, but I guess it wanted to set itself apart from other stop motion works. It will be interesting to see more dark themed plasticine and doll stories such as ” Wallace and Gromit and the Fetish night”.

The film deals with existential fear, and presents ideas and concepts in very simple but effective ways that leave you feeling a little itchy and confused. It has some Sci-Fi elements in the mix, and the story itself could have easily been twisted from one of the metaphorical as the film portrays, to something which could in its own way fit into a psychological Sci-Fi story.

It fit very well into an idea I had about robots, mainly the various stages of humanity that they can undergo till we get it right, and the issues surrounding robots who were obviously not humans. I’ll get round to it at some point, remembering the unsettling vibe of the story, but maybe from a different angle.

I’ve also started exercising again, but I don’t know how long it will last. I don’t know if its considered good form to be a writer with a nice body, i’ll have to put the question to the inner circle to make sure. I miss going out and doing things outside, but as i don’t really have to go out everywhere on my own, I might as well just exercise a bit at home.

Something which I heard on a video made me smile, it said that you have to open yourself to different media and art, and just life itself in order to grow and find new thoughts. It seems like such an obvious thing, but it’s something which you can overlook while your trying to range that creative voice of yours. If you pull away from the norm you will find things out about yourself that you didn’t know existed, which means you can give something new to your work.

If you’ve liked what you read and want to support me while I make stuff up for a living then head over to my Patreon and give me some money to buy a coffee or a pen or something. If not I hope you’ve done something creative today, and try and share it, who knows you may just encourage someone else to try something.

Leave a Reply

