Sick Days

So it’s officially a sick day. I can tell this by the fact I can’t seem to concentrate on anything for more than a few moments, without feeling an overwhelming urge to just stop and got to sleep. It seems to be a running theme in the house, with everyone feeling a little down, even Pepper the disabled house-cat.

Sick days are only fun if you’re a child, getting to smirk as your siblings trail out of the door first thing on a Monday morning, but as a child posing in adult clothes it doesn’t seem as fun. Luckily I have Pepper on my knee, and a heedful of silly ideas about what I want to do next.

I don’t want to count the day as a write off just yet, so i’ve knuckled down and done some reading, while trying to do my own thing with chicken korma, which seemed to create problems along the way. Holly my partner will be home soon, and hopefully it will make me feel that little bit better as I watch her devour a plate of home cooked food.

I love to cook, it’s one of many interests my Mum suggested was important for making someone happy, and she is right. Cooking allows me to use my hands and my head in a way that feels right. I get to play around with tried and tested traditional foods, figure out my own, and I don’t know why but it just tastes better when you’ve made it yourself.

I’m one of those cupboard searchers, looking for available resources, and end up pleasantly surprised when a mishap involving several spices ends up non-lethal. Cooking allows me to get out of my head, and fidget around with things that I probably should stay clear of: knives, fire, and chillies.

I’ve also continued my reading on Celtic history, an endeavour which seems to becoming more and more strange, with everyone disagreeing where it all began, and how important were women in druidic faith. It’s all very interesting, in that mad and outlandish way, and i’ve been doodling a few ideas for the next big book.

I was paid for my work on the boardgame today, which was both wonder and a little surreal. I have been working on this project for a few months now, dealing with all sorts of creative conflicts, and other issues, but still loving each and every moment of it. I am glad I took the time to ignore the voice in the back of my head that said I couldn’t do it, and just applying for the job. The chances are always slim, but they do increase if you apply, so you might as well just give it a go.

I am looking around for a few other projects to work on, while I dust out the webs in my head, and figure out the next big “Me” thing. I’m thinking a lot of short stories to get some money, and hopefully connect with some talented artists, open a few doors here and there. I’ve done the reclusive novel writing experience, and i’d like to write in an environment that has people in it.

I’d love to write a comic book with someone. I have several ideas and stories set up, but one of the hardest parts about wanting to create art with people is you sometimes struggle with finding that other person as interested in the project as you are. Everyone has their particular way of doing things, and it’s all about finding that person who compliments your style.

I don’t know what is next on the list, but i’m going to keep writing, in such a way it looks like i’m actually working. Even if i’m a little ill I can tell that things are on the rise, and it all starts with the flick of paper in a pad, and the click of a pen. Whatever works for you do it. Take this opportunity to take a chance and create some art.

 

 

Leave a Reply

