Early Morning’s And The Prospect Of New Work

a
Here’s me, sometime last year, all curly hair and up a hill. 

So it’s 11:04, and it’s the earliest i’ve been up in a long time, and I feel surprising happy about it. I think it has something to do with the way my brain likes to take significant moments, and then quickly mix things up. I spent yesterday evening writing around thirty two pages or so in my Grolier Ornamentali note book, effectively finishing my novel, then relaxing until 3:30 where I slunk off to bed for another night of trying to sleep.

I don’t know how much sleep I had, but the moment Holly stirred next to me, I felt my brain spread a devilish smile as it asked me what day it was, I rolled my bleary eyes and asked it to tell me “It’s the first day of the new year where you can do something completely different”. The thought made me want to get up.

Like most artists I spend most of my time coming up with wonderful ideas, then when trying to act upon them, new shiny ones pop in and demand I do them instead. Instead I write them down, and put them away, for a time when i’m not working on my novel, the boardgame I actually get paid for, and the short stories in-between.

I have that funny feeling that the hard parts over, and while I send my work out to trusted friends for yet another reading, I can turn my sights elsewhere, and i’m actually happy to do so. It’s not that I don’t love my novel, but when you’ve been using it to learn to write one, developing it over a year, you feel a little space is in order.

I’m currently reading Michael Chabon’s Yiddish Policeman’s Union, and the Penguin book of vampire shorts, an odd mix, but definitely brain food while I think of what to do next. I’ve wanted to read Chabon since I first saw him in a interview with Neil Gaiman, hearing him giggle as Neil read an exert from Good Omens. Reading YPU, you can really see why their friends, they both have a habit of bleeding into their art, A habit more and more people are doing by the day.

One of the other thoughts in my head is the rise of what appears on the surface to be an anti-political stance, but is in actual fact people standing up and taking accountability with both English and American people. Trump and May are two sides of a coin we’ve neglected for years, passive-aggressively moaning, while refusing to do much about it.

I was very much part of the “Meh” era of life, a time when it seemed that you didn’t have to do anything, because it didn’t matter what you thought, and even if you did try it would all be the same anyway. The Marvin approach for all you Douglas Adam’s fans out there. The truth of the matter is this is what happens when you don’t pay attention, and you put your future into the hands of people who don’t know how to represent the world around them.

I know that everyone is a little worried with the way things are going, but this is the first time in a long time that people have actually gained interest in politics. Now whether that’s because you’ve got a trigger-provoking leader encouraging thing backlash, I don’t know, but it’s good to see people are finally realising where they are.

I think despite all of this chaotic atmosphere, that it’s a time for accountability, and realisation that it took someone like Trump to realise just how our culture has altered. I’m not blaming anyone in particular, because it’s all of us. We are interested as individuals unless it affects us directly, and one man has single-handedly pissed off most of the world, and hopefully for the better.

It’s time to take action, and not with a weapon, or a few harsh words on social media, but with a brush, a notebook, an enunciating rendition of Hamlet. If you don’t like the world around you, then you need to stand up and give a little something back, and in times like these the artistic juices cannot help but flow. Don’t just sit there and grumble in despair, and show the world that it’s something beautiful, and create your art.

We’ve seen enough of the depravity of wars, and hate only manages to fuel hate, so take that energy and throw it into something you love. Negativity is self-serving, and even then it’s in a one-shot measure. Art is something you can hold onto, and share it with people who might just need it.

I think we’re going to be ok, we’re just angry like the cognitive cradle babies, suddenly woken rather rudely. We want to scream and ball and be taken care of, but that’s just part of the cycle we need to break. So get up, shake yourself down, and work on something that matters to you. This is the best time to start, so get started, and remember to smile.

If you like this sort of stuff, and want to support me while I carry on writing, then you’re more than welcome to head over to my Twitter, where you’ll find my Patreon. If you’re feeling less fiscal but still friendly, then remember to pop by Twitter and keep in touch. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

